The history of the crotto
The historic Crotto dei Platani restaurant, founded in 1855, owes its name to the traditional cellar dug into the rock, called “crotto“, characterized by the Sorèl, a stream of cold air that mysteriously comes from the bowels of the mountains and maintains a constant temperature of about 8° C in both winter and summer, making it an ideal environment for maturing wine and curing meats and cheeses.
In the Thirties this place, halfway between Brienno and Argegno, at the foot of Monte Gringo, was the small headquarters of the most elusive smugglers in the area, who mingled with lumberjacks and local people to escape the controls.
The cavadini family
In 1977 Fernando and Renata Cavadini took over the property and began a process of transformation and growth of the restaurant business, making it a point of reference for lovers of good food.
the new project
In May 2019 the Crotto dei Platani reopens after the renovation, signed by the well-known architecture firm Venelli Kramer, which expands and completely renovates the rooms on the lakeside to offer restaurant guests a modern and fascinating location and a kitchen area compliant with highest quality standards in the industry.
To the present day
For more than 30 years, his son Francesco has carried on this tradition with increasing success, welcoming a diverse and international clientele who choose Crotto dei Platani for its fabulous lakeside location, welcoming and elegant atmosphere, creative cuisine inspired by local traditions, and first-rate service.